The Padre Pico Street is one of the most picturesque places in the city of Santiago de Cuba. It is located in the middle of the heart of the city.
In their origins, the current Padre Pico street it was known like Cuesta de Amuedo, later like Hospital street and Loma de Corvacho, respectively. This last name in fact kept relationship with the arrival in 1832 of a 35 year-old venturesome Galician Juan Corvacho that opened up in the place a modest commercial establishment.
When dying in 1883, for the immense affection that he had demonstrated to have for this place of Santiago de Cuba, the neighbours they began to identify the elevation there existent as Loma de Corvacho.
When concluding the Spanish dominance in Cuba in 1898, the first mayor of Santiago de Cuba, Emilio Bacardi Moreau, traced a plane to make to disappear the paved hill and to stagger the tract of pending sum.
This singular street from Santiago de cuba adopted the name that identifies it as such in homage to the priest Bernardo del later Pico (1726-1813) who was characterized by their collaboration in certain works in the city and for their concern for the youth. In a tablet erected to their memory, in August of 1942, located at the beginning of the street , is appreciated the recognition to this religious man.